Skip to content

An open letter from the Institute’s Professional Standards Committee.

Hello fellow members,


Would you like to help shape the future of herbal medicine?


Maybe you are interested in educational standards within the herbal medicine sector, or how the Institute maintains its professional standards, or would like to be part of developing Institute policies? Or perhaps you want to be part of ongoing clinical skills training, safeguarding training, or other CPD?


If any of these subjects spark your curiosity, then look no further as we currently have an opportunity for you to come and join us on the Institute’s Professional Standards Committee. Being a part of this committee will give you an insight into how the Institute operates as it works alongside and collaborates with many other panels, working groups, and committees, including Council.


If you have thought about getting involved with what the Institute does and learn how it does it, this is a fantastic option. And could this be the next step in your herbal career? The PSC does not require an onerous commitment and is potentially a training ground for those that are interested in becoming future leaders of the profession. You will gain skills, add experience that will enhance your resumé, and network with successful and experienced herbalists. You might be a new member, or an established one, no prior experience is required. All you need is a laptop, internet connection and some enthusiasm!


The Institute is keen to encourage diversity and opportunity to all in how we represent different needs and culture. So we would especially like to hear from those who are allies and ambassadors for equality, diversity and inclusion. 


This committee currently consists of former president Phil Deakin, our current president Robyn Soma, and the very knowledgeable and experienced Alison Morton. They are now looking for one or two more members to assist them. They meet via Zoom three times a year for an hour and a half to two hours tops. They oversee the work of the Herbal Educators Forum, Admissions Panel, Safeguarding Panel, Ethics, Health and Conduct Panel, and finally the Education Panel. From time to time there may be tasks that require attention in between meetings, but these are tackled as a team and are minimal.


If you are still unsure, here are a few words from the committee’s previous Chair Emma Barker.


“I must admit I wasn’t sure when I first joined this committee back when Council made the decision to amend our governance structure, as this wasn’t a particular passion of mine. However, being a part of this has certainly been an enjoyable experience. I have learnt so much and have had the chance to connect with so many herbalists who I would not have encountered otherwise. I found that when I graduated, I really only knew my fellow cohort and my tutors, but I have got to know so many more members of our herbal family through being a part of this committee and made good friends with those I have worked with. It has also improved my IT skills and my understanding of Google Workspace and the Zoom platform (other software available!), which I have transferred to assist and grow my own business as it allows me to work collaboratively with my other work colleagues. A system that I had not considered before using it as part of my Institute work. My confidence has certainly grown! I would never have thought that I could be Chair of such a committee, but it is such a supportive and friendly environment in which to work, it helps you grow both personally and professionally. If it wasn’t for other commitments that now require more of my time, I would still be a part of this. It is incredibly rewarding and I would encourage anybody to get involved with not just this, but any Institute work. You’ll surprise yourself! I did.”


If you would like to find out more about this exciting opportunity then in the first instance get in touch with the Institute office, and they will pass you to the team. We look forward to hearing from you.

Current members of the Professional Standards Committee

Phil Deakin (He/him)

Acting Chair

Robyn Soma (She/her)

Alison Morton (She/her)